Book Review – The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

IMG_5901

Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Series Number: Not a Series.

Length of Book: 213 Pages, 4 Parts, & Epilogue

Theme: Suppressed Memories, Mental disorders, Rape, Drugs, Drinking, High School Life

Personal Review: Wow. All I can say is just… wow. This book changed me, I think. It was life changing, really. This was one of the best books I’ve ever read, and it was just… just… wow. I picked up this book after hearing about the movie (I always like to read the book before seeing the movie) and after reading it in a day, I cried at the end. This book made me giggle, smile, tear up, get angry, and cry. It made me feel. It actually made me feel. More than any other book, too. This… this was something. This was a feeling I’ve never felt before, in my entire life. It was truly an outstanding book.

Summary: Follow Charlie’s letters to you as he heads to his first year of high school. He has a lot of firsts this year, actually. His first best friends, his first cigarette, his first time getting high, his first time drinking. His first love. Charlie is an awkward individual, and his mind works different than others, but you may find yourself connecting to him in ways you never could of thought. Through tears, sweat, and vomit, Charlie grows and learns new things in this exciting and terrifying life. Maybe he’ll even learn his very own deep dark secret.

Time it took me to read it: A day of reading in all my classes.

Do I recommend it?: Yes, a thousand times yes! This book grabbed me in and would not let me go, I couldn’t set it down. It tugged my heartstrings, too.

Age Recommendation: 15/16+

Rating: 10/10

 

