Book Review – Down a Dark Hall by Lois Duncan

IMG_5765

Book: Down a Dark Hall

Author: Lois Duncan

Series Number: Not a Series

Length of Book: 181 Pages, 19 Chapters

Theme: Thriller, Paranormal, Ghosts, Art

Personal Review: I ended up picking this book just by finding it in the school library without having any idea of how good it would be. I have never really read a thriller before, so I wasn’t sure if I’d like it. It was an easy read though, and only took me a day. I had only found out while I was halfway through the book that Lois Duncan had written the book ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ that has a movie based off of it. And now I have just found that this author has also written the book ‘Killing Mr.Griffin’ that I have heard about in middle school. Overall an easy read, not the best ending, not very scary, but not bad!

Summary: In the book ‘Down a Dark Hall’ a young 14 year old girl named Kit, or, Kathyrn, is sent to a new boarding school in the middle of no where while her mother and stepfather go on their honeymoon. But… when she first arrives at the huge dark and terrifying place, she can only think of one word. Evil. Something about this place doesn’t settle right with her, and soon she starts having weird nightmares. She wakes with her fingers aching, and feeling like she hadn’t slept at all. Will she find out just what is so ‘evil’ about this place? Will she make it out, dare I say, alive?

Do I recommend it?: Yes, I do! It was a good book. Not the best I’ve ever read, but good. The writing style was nice, and the word choice was simple. It was a easy read to me, and I don’t have outstanding reading skills.

Age Recommendation: 12-16 Years of Age.