Book Review – The Future of Us by Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

the-future-of-us

 

[Photo Credit {x}]

Book: The Future of Us

Author: Jay Asher & Carolyn Mackler

Series Number: Not a Series

Length of Book: 356 Pages, 65 Chapters

Theme: Facebook, Future, Time Travel, Romance, Marriage,

Personal Review: When I grabbed this book at school, the bell was about to ring. I saw the morris code on the cover, and thought, ‘Oh, this must be about technology!’ Technology is cool, I love computers, so I got it. Once I read the description, I actually thought I’d hate it. It takes place back in the 1960’s, they talk about Windows 95 and CD-ROMs, now that I think about it, how did that sound bad at all? Once I got into the book I couldn’t put it down. I loved the way the characters were written, and oh GOD, I wanted them to fall in love so badly. The story was interesting, new, and modern, and it was like, sci fi, but not TOO sci fi. Just enough to still be a little girly and have lots of Romance.

Summary: When Emma gets a new computer with Windows 95 (Wow, modern!) her friend Josh visits her, giving her a CD-ROM he got in the mail. Once the two sign onto Aol, they see an odd page in the favorites list. Facebook. But wait, Emma and Josh are in the 1960’s! But this website? No, it’s taking place 15 years in the future. And every little thing Emma and Josh do changes their future lives! Oh, and hey, what’s going on with Josh and Emma’s feelings for each other?

Do I recommend it?: Yes, of course! I loved this book. The story was new and modern, and the book was fresh and full of emotional drama. Just like high school. The book was an easy read for me, I read it in two days. It was a little long, but the words were simple.

Age Recommendation: 15+

Rating: 7/10

Leave a Reply

